1. /Cases
  2. /BHS Corrugated

BHS Corrugated

Corrugator with strong brand identity
1
uniform design language for 23 operating modules
60%
of operating elements saved
3
international design awards

Task & Procedure

In order to develop a significant brand identity, BHS Corrugated decided to cooperate with UXMA due to its many years of experience in the construction of corrugators.

Corrugators from BHS Corrugated have to be able to map tailor-made production requirements at all times. To achieve this, various modules can be combined, which can be scaled to a total of three different corrugator sizes. The challenge for UXMA was to combine the modules into a consistent blend of operation, ergonomics and design to create an outstanding user experience. Using the "Single Facer" module as an example, extensive examinations were carried out and converted into a concept for the entire corrugator.

Not only the modularity of a corrugator, but also the interfaces between man and machine, influence the user experience. The holistic view showed that each module required an interface for individual settings and that a complete overview must be ensured at all times. Various concepts of an interaction interface were conceived and evaluated with regard to general operation. To evaluate the design and the ergonomics, three prototypes were created on a scale of 1:1, on which intensive tests were carried out. In the next step, UXMA, together with BHS Corrugated, designed the user interface for the operating terminals of the corrugator and implemented it using C# and WPF. 

BHS Logo

BHS Corrugated Maschinen- und Anlagenbau GmbH

Services

Industrial Design
User Interface Design
Software Development

Inosoft VisiWin 7
BHS Corrugated User Interface

Outcome

Based on this value-adding insight, uniform interfaces called "ICON control panel" were integrated into the individual modules. Indirect LED lighting now highlights the respective production section and machine status. The ICON operating panels recurring along the corrugator form the central interface and ensure superior, consistent operation.

A decisive feature of the design is the horizontal and vertical grid of the corrugator, which ensures a uniform appearance. The colour concept developed by UXMA is based on strong contrasts to visually underline the overall structure and work processes. The bright cladding surfaces bring structure and clarity to the structure of the corrugator.

Large glazing areas provide a detailed insight into important machine areas. In combination with high-quality aluminium applications and discreet branding, the corporate brand is attractively staged by the design.

The user interface of the "Control Panel ICON" uses the same icon language and colors as the hardware and displays all modules of the corrugator via a panoramic view. The reduced and predominantly graphic design enables a consistent and intuitive user experience even in international use. 

reddot award industrial design
reddot award interface design
German Design Award 2020
BHS Corrugator
Friedemann Pahner<br>Project Lead
Friedemann Pahner
Project Lead
"The close cooperation based on partnership has made it possible to achieve the common goal: A perfect interplay of design, function and ergonomics".

1. /Cases
  2. /BHS Corrugated

BHS Corrugated

Wellpappenanlage mit starker Markenidentität
1
einheitliche Designsprache für 23 Bedienmodule
60%
der Bedienelemente eingespart
3
internationale Designauszeichnungen

Aufgabe & Vorgehen

Zur Entwicklung einer signifikanten Markenidentität entschied sich BHS Corrugated aufgrund langjähriger Erfahrungen im Bau von Wellpappenanlagen für die Zusammenarbeit mit UXMA.

Wellpappenanlagen von BHS Corrugated müssen zu jeder Zeit maßgeschneiderte Produktionsanforderungen abbilden können. Um das zu erreichen, können verschiedene Module kombiniert werden, die sich in Summe zu drei verschiedenen Wellpappenanlagengrößen skalieren lassen. Die Herausforderung für UXMA bestand darin, die Kombination der Module in einen durchgängigen Einklang von Bedienung, Ergonomie und Design zu überführen, um eine herausragende User Experience zu schaffen. Am Beispiel des Moduls „Single Facer“ wurden umfangreiche Betrachtungen vorgenommen und diese in ein Konzept für die gesamte Wellpappenanlage überführt.

Nicht nur die Modularität einer Wellpappenanlage, sondern auch die Schnittstellen zwischen Mensch und Maschine beeinflussen die Nutzererfahrung. Aus der ganzheitlichen Betrachtung wurde ersichtlich, dass jedes Modul eine Schnittstelle für individuelle Einstellungen benötigt und zu jeder Zeit ein Gesamtüberblick sichergestellt sein muss. Verschiedene Konzepte einer Interaktionsschnittstelle wurden erdacht und im Hinblick auf eine durchgängige Bedienung beurteilt. Zur Bewertung des Designs und der Ergonomie wurden drei Prototypen im Maßstab 1:1 erstellt, an denen intensive Tests durchgeführt wurden.

BHS Logo

BHS Corrugated Maschinen- und Anlagenbau GmbH

Leistungen

Industriedesign
User Interface Design
Software Development

BHS Corrugated

Ergebnis

Aus der wertschöpfenden Erkenntnis heraus wurden in die einzelnen Module einheitliche Schnittstellen namens „Bedienpanel ICON“ integriert. Mittels indirekter LED-Beleuchtung werden nun der jeweilige Produktionsabschnitt und Maschinenstatus hervorgehoben. Die entlang der Wellpappenanlage wiederkehrenden Bedienpanel ICON bilden die zentrale Schnittstelle und stellen eine übergeordnete, konsistente Bedienung sicher.

Eine entscheidende Eigenschaft des Designs stellt ein horizontales sowie vertikales Raster der Wellpappenanlage dar, welches eine einheitliche Optik sicherstellt. Das von UXMA ergänzend entwickelte Farbkonzept basiert auf starken Kontrasten, um die Gesamtstruktur und die Arbeitsprozesse visuell zu unterstreichen. Die hellen Verkleidungsflächen bringen Struktur und Klarheit in den Aufbau der Wellpappenanlage. 

Großflächige Verglasungsbereiche ermöglichen einen detaillierten Einblick in wichtige Maschinenbereiche. In der Kombination mit wertigen Aluminiumapplikationen und einem dezenten Branding wird die Unternehmensmarke durch das Design ansprechend inszeniert.

reddot award 2018 winner
reddot award 2018 winner
German Design Award 2020
BHS Corrugated
Friedemann Pahner<br>Projektleiter
Friedemann Pahner
Projektleiter
„Die enge partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit hat es ermöglicht, das gemeinsame Ziel zu erreichen: Ein perfektes Zusammenspiel aus Design, Funktion und Ergonomie.“

Gemeinsam etwas Großes starten