1. /Cases
  2. /Dräger

Dräger

Alcotest® 5000
Alcotest 5000
copyright: Dräger
3000+
person days experience in product design for security technology
10+
years customer relationship
5
international design awards for Alcotest®

Tasks & Procedure

Together with Dräger, we have already developed the award-winning breath alcohol meters "Alcotest A5820" and "Alcotest A3820", which are used by the police or in private environments in many countries.

In 2018 we were commissioned by Dräger to develop a new device for the Alcotest family, which indicates a reliable indication for alcohol in the body and does not require the use of disposable mouthpieces. The use of multiple mouthpieces is costly and time-consuming to handle - often involving a large number of tests within a short period of time, such as police checks on motorways, mandatory checks at factory gates or access controls to airport gates.

UXMA first carried out a requirements analysis and defined concrete Use Cases. In a comprehensive usability study, the optimal comfort distance of a measuring device from the test person was tested. Several designs for the casing form were created in order to achieve an ergonomically optimal design. Particular attention was paid to the development of different funnel shapes for the device, taking into account Dräger's air flow research.

Dräger Logo

Drägerwerk AG & Co. KGaA

Services

User Experience
Industrial Design
User Interface Design

Methods

Usability Analysis
Use Case Modelling
Prototyping
Design Consulting

Parts of a n Alcotest User Story

Outcome

The Dräger Alcotest® 5000 is a sustainable device for breath alcohol measurements without any physical contact with the test person. By blowing into the funnel on the head side, alcohol can be reliably detected in the body. The funnel makes the exchange of disposable mouthpieces unnecessary and avoids the backflow of exhaled air. This makes the device an excellent solution for fast, hygienic measuring procedures.

Three buttons and a clearly arranged control panel allow easy and one-handed use of the meter. The display shows instructions for the test procedure and the results are displayed with symbols in a language-neutral manner. The Dräger Alcotest® 5000 is an ideal extension of Dräger's existing family of measuring instruments and has won several international design awards.

reddot award
German Design Award
iF Design Award 2019
Christian Jacobs<br>Project Lead
Christian Jacobs
Project Lead
"Thanks to our methodical approach, we were able to facilitate decision-making at Dräger and thus greatly shorten the "time to market".
Flow analysis
Alcotest 5000 in use
copyright: Dräger

1. /Cases
  2. /Dräger

Dräger

Alcotest® 5000
3000+
Personentage Erfahrung 
im Produktdesign 
für Sicherheitstechnik
10+
Jahre Kundenbeziehung
5
internationale Designauszeichnungen für Alcotest®
Dräger
Bild: Dräger

Aufgaben & Vorgehen

Gemeinsam mit Dräger haben wir bereits die mehrfach ausgezeichneten Atemalkohol-Messgeräte „Alcotest A5820“ und „Alcotest A3820“ entwickelt, die in vielen Ländern von der Polizei oder im privaten Umfeld eingesetzt werden.

2018 wurden wir von Dräger damit beauftragt, ein neues Gerät für die Alcotest-Familie zu erdenken, das eine verlässliche Indikation für Alkohol im Körper anzeigt und ohne die Verwendung von Einmal-Mundstücken auskommt. Der Gebrauch von mehreren Mundstücken ist kostenintensiv und aufwendig in der Handhabung – dabei geht es häufig darum, sehr viele Tests innerhalb von kurzer Zeit durchzuführen, z. B. bei Polizeikontrollen an Autobahnen, vorgeschriebenen Überprüfungen am Werkstor oder bei Zugangskontrollen zum Flughafen-Gate.

UXMA führte zunächst eine Anforderungsanalyse durch und definierte konkrete Use Cases. In einer umfassenden Usability-Untersuchung wurde der optimale Komfortabstand eines Messgerätes zum Probanden getestet. Mehrere Entwürfe für die Gehäuseform wurden erstellt, um eine ergonomisch optimale Gestaltung zu erzielen. Besonderes Augenmerk galt der Entwicklung verschiedener Trichterausprägungen für das Gerät unter Berücksichtigung von Drägers Luftströmungsuntersuchungen.

Dräger Logo

Drägerwerk AG & Co. KGaA

Leistungen

User Experience
Industrial Design
User Interface Design

Methoden

Usability Analysis
Use Case Modelling
Prototyping
Design Consulting

Dräger

Ergebnis

Der Dräger Alcotest® 5000 ist ein nachhaltiges Gerät für Atemalkoholmessungen ohne jeglichen Körperkontakt mit dem Probanden. Mittels Pusten in den Trichter an der Kopfseite kann Alkohol im Körper zuverlässig nachgewiesen werden. Der Trichter macht den Tausch von Einmal- Mundstücken verzichtbar und vermeidet die Rückströmung von Ausatemluft. So stellt das Gerät eine hervorragende Lösung für schnelle, hygienische Messabläufe dar.

Drei Tasten und ein übersichtliches Bedienfeld erlauben eine einfache und einhändige Nutzung des Messgeräts. Anhand des Displays werden Anweisungen für den Testvorgang angezeigt und die Ergebnisse sprachneutral mit Symbolen dargestellt. Der Dräger Alcotest® 5000 stellt damit eine ideale Erweiterung der bestehenden Messgeräte-Familie von Dräger dar und wurde mit mehreren internationalen Design Preisen ausgezeichnet.

reddot award 2018 winner
German Design Award 2019
Christian Jacobs<br>Projektleiter
Christian Jacobs
Projektleiter
„Durch unser methodisches Vorgehen konnten wir die Entscheidungsfindung bei Dräger erleichtern und so die „Time to Market“ stark verkürzen.“
Dräger
Dräger
Bild: Dräger

Gemeinsam etwas Großes starten