1. /Cases
  2. /Ferag

Ferag

Skyfall's Digital Twin
Ferag conveyor system
2-20
flexible team members
10+
years customer relationship
 
100%
customer satisfaction score

Tasks & Procedure

With the "Skyfall" intralogistics conveying and storage system, Ferag AG supports its customers in mastering challenging conveying tasks with maximum space, energy and cost efficiency. Thanks to its intelligent design, "Skyfall" opens up the third dimension without the customer having to make any costly adjustments to the hall construction. The conveyed goods are transported using gravity to a great extent. Reliability is of the utmost importance for the "Skyfall" system.

For better recognition, localization and elimination of possible problems, it was necessary to develop an operating concept for a new diagnostic system: Skyfall's "Digital Twin". This was intended to provide comprehensive support for Ferag's customer support in its daily work and to provide the customer with problem diagnosis information in order to reduce downtime to a minimum. The concept should be as intuitive and scalable as possible.

Together with Ferag AG, UXMA has created a digital twin of the Skyfall system. This virtual model of the system uses real data from installed sensors and enables the user to reliably identify and locate problems. By means of a scalable software application, the data of the digital twin can be retrieved. The application shows a fast, digital visualization of the complex Skyfall system on plant and module level.

Ferag Logo

Ferag AG

Services

Innovation Development
User Experience Design
User Interface Design

Screens of Skyfall's Digital Twin

Outcome

Together with the client's UX and software specialists, UXMA developed an extensive interaction concept for the Digital Twin. In line with the look & feel specifications for the application frame, an intuitively understandable visual language was created for the topological representation of the system. This visual language creates a high level of clarity over the three dimensions of the system and provides orientation for the user within the software. The simple and fast operability ensures process reliability and can accelerate the diagnostic process.

The system, which is based on web technologies, can be used on both mobile devices and on desktop systems in parallel. This enables efficient communication between all users and technical system components involved in the diagnostic process.

Jannes Rühmann<br>Project Lead
Jannes Rühmann
Project Lead
"Interpersonal relationships are just as important to Ferag as they are to us. Open communication enabled us to achieve professional results very quickly".

1. /Cases
  2. /Ferag

Ferag

Skyfall's Digital Twin
Ferag
Bild: Ferag
Gemeinsames Erdenken
2-20
Teammitglieder flexibel skaliert
10+
Jahre Kundenbeziehung
100%
Customer Satisfaction Score

Aufgaben & Vorgehen

Mit dem intralogistischen Förder- und Lagersystem „Skyfall“ unterstützt die Ferag AG ihre Kunden dabei, anspruchsvolle Förderaufgaben mit höchster Raum-, Energie- und Kosteneffizienz zu meistern. „Skyfall“ erschließt durch seine intelligente Bauweise die dritte Dimension, ohne dass die Kunden aufwendige Anpassungen bei der Hallenkonstruktion in Kauf nehmen müssen. Der Transport der Fördergüter erfolgt unter starker Ausnutzung der Schwerkraft. Ausfallsicherheit ist für das „Skyfall“-System dabei von höchster Bedeutung.

Zur besseren Erkennung, Lokalisierung und Behebung möglicher Probleme galt es, ein Bedienkonzept für ein neues Diagnosesystem zu entwickeln: Skyfall’s „Digital Twin“. Dieses sollte den Kundensupport seitens Ferag in der täglichen Arbeit umfassend unterstützen und dem Kunden Informationen zur Problemdiagnose liefern, um Ausfallzeiten auf ein Minimum zu reduzieren. Das Konzept sollte dabei möglichst intuitiv und skalierbar sein.

Gemeinsam mit der Ferag AG hat UXMA einen digitalen Zwilling des Skyfall-Systems geschaffen. Dieses virtuelle Modell der Anlage verwendet reale Daten von installierten Sensoren und ermöglicht dem Nutzer eine sichere Problemidentifikation und -lokalisierung. Mittels einer skalierbaren Softwareanwendung können die Daten des Digitalen Zwillings aufgerufen werden. Die Anwendung zeigt eine schnell erfassbare, digitale Visualisierung des komplexen Skyfall-Systems auf Anlagen- und Modulebene.

Ferag Logo

Ferag AG

Leistungen

Innovations-entwicklung
User Experience
User Interface Design

Ferag

Ergebnis

Zusammen mit den UX- und Software-Spezialisten des Kunden entwickelte UXMA ein umfassendes Interaktionskonzept für den Digitalen Zwilling. Passend zu den Look- & Feel-Vorgaben für den Anwendungsrahmen entstand eine intuitiv verständliche Bildsprache für die topologische Darstellung des Systems. Mit dieser Bildsprache werden eine hohe Übersichtlichkeit über die drei Dimensionen der Anlage geschaffen und Orientierung für den Anwender innerhalb der Software gegeben. Die einfache und schnelle Bedienbarkeit sorgt für Prozesssicherheit und kann den Diagnoseprozess beschleunigen.

Das auf Webtechnologien basierende System kann auf Mobilgeräten und auf Desktopsystemen gleichermaßen und parallel genutzt werden. Damit erlaubt es eine effiziente Kommunikation zwischen allen Anwendern und technischen Systembestandteilen, die am Diagnoseprozess beteiligt sind.

Jannes Rühmann<br>Projektleiter
Jannes Rühmann
Projektleiter
„Die zwischenmenschliche Beziehung in der Zusammenarbeit ist Ferag genauso wichtig wie uns. Durch offene Kommunikation konnten wir sehr schnell professionelle Ergebnisse erreichen.“

Gemeinsam etwas Großes starten